https://riseandshine.childrensnational.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/soccer-team-wearing-masks-feature.png 300 400 Rise and Shine https://riseandshine.childrensnational.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/childrens_riseandshine_logo.jpg Rise and Shine2020-09-23 16:34:152020-09-23 16:35:49Returning to sports during COVID-19: Precautions for you and your children
While children with celiac disease haven’t been shown to be more susceptible to COVID-19 (coronavirus), they, like everyone else, need to be vigilant about cleaning and disinfecting surfaces. To help, we’ve compiled some information about gluten-free cleaning products and soaps.
People with celiac disease can’t ingest gluten. And, while we don’t eat cleaning products or hand soaps, there is a small risk of transfer to food we eat. For most older kids and adults, refraining from eating these products is typically easy to do, but for young children who may open their mouth in the bathtub or shower, it may pose a problem.
Cleaning ingredients that may contain gluten
In the United States, the labeling of household cleaning products does not fall under the same labeling laws that apply to food, so you will not find a “contains” statement or other language to easily identify gluten containing cleaning products. Below is a list of common ingredients in cleaning products that may contain gluten.
- Tocopherols are an ingredient typically labeled as Vitamin E. Tocopherols are frequently derived from wheat and oats; but could also be obtained from the nuts and oils of peanuts, walnuts, hazelnuts, sunflowers and olive oil. Most manufacturers do not list the source of origin for their Vitamin E. Contact the manufacturer if you have questions about the ingredients listed on the label, either through their website or via their toll free numbers.
- Other ingredients derived from wheat: fermented grain extract, AMP isostearoyl hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed wheat gluten, starch, PG-propyl silanetriol, hydroxypropyltrimonium, steardimonium hydroxypropyl protein/PVP crosspolymer, triticum vulgare, bran extract, PG-propyl silanetriol, triticum lipids, germamidopropyldimonium hydroxypropyl, cyclodextrin, dextrin palmitate and stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl.
- Ingredients derived from wheat germ oil: wheat germ glycerides, disodium wheat germamido peg-2 sulfosuccinate, vitamin E, germ oil, triticum vulgare, triticum vulgare germ extract, wheat germ glycerides and wheat germ extract.
- Ingredients derived from oats that are likely cross-contaminated: avena sativa, bran, protein, or extracts.
- Ingredients derived from barley: barley extract, samino peptide complex, hordeum vulgare phytosphingosine extract, lipids.
Gluten-free soap and cleaning products
The following is a list of some hand soap and cleaning products that are made with no gluten-containing ingredients. This list is not exhaustive and there may be other brands that are considered gluten-free. It is always important to read your labels and when in doubt, call the manufacturer!
- ALL Ajax cleansers, dish liquids and all-purpose cleaners
- ALL Bounce products
- ALL Mrs. Meyer’s products
- ALL Method products
- ALL Seventh Generation products
- ALL Snuggle products
- ALL Softsoap liquid and body washes
- Cascade Complete Action Pacs
- Cascade Complete Gel with and without bleach
- Cascade Complete powder
- Cascade with Dawn Action pacs
- Crystal White Octagon Lemon dish liquid
- Dawn dishwashing detergent
- Dawn gel
- Dawn powder
- EO Everyone soaps
- Gluten-free Savonnerie
- Joy dish soap
- Kiss my Face hand soap
- Murphy oil soap
- Nature’s plus- hypoallergenic liquid soap
- ALL Palmolive products
- Raw Sugar Natural Hand Sanitizers
- Raw Sugar Natural Hand Washes
- Tide laundry detergent liquid or powder
- Trader Joes Hand Soaps (Lavender & Chamomile, Lemon)
Gluten-free hand sanitizers
The basic active ingredients of hand sanitizers are gluten-free. Gluten-containing ingredients can, however, be added to hand sanitizers to enhance moisturizing capacity or other characteristics. Wheat germ oil, for instance, can be an ingredient. While wheat germ oil is highly processed and likely gluten-free, some products can contain less refined versions which can contain trace amounts of gluten. As with other products that may come in contact with your digestive system (via your hands, in this case), always read the ingredient list.